International cooperation2018-11-09T08:21:30+01:00

Cooperation with other higher education institutions in the country or abroad

International and inter-institutional cooperation of the University of Osijek is carried out within the activities based on bilateral inter-institutional agreements, international university networks, international scientific and professional research projects of the European Commission, and international activities of student organizations. In addition, cooperation is carried out with the Universities of Zagreb, Split, Rijeka and Zadar, and it is mainly based on the improvement and implementation of joint study programmes and collaboration in scientific research projects.


Graphical representation of bilateral cooperation

Since the University of Osijek is one of the promoters of the development of Eastern Croatia, its strategic goals refer to encouraging cross-border cooperation, which is particularly developed in the field of joint international scientific research projects.

International and inter-institutional cooperation of the University of Osijek is carried out within the activities based on 61 bilateral agreements in 25 countries, as well as within activities in the international university networks (European University Association, Danube Rectors’ Conference, Alps Adriatic Rectors’ Conference).


Graphical representation of international exchange in the last 5 years

A significant number of professors from the region are involved in teaching at the post-graduate level at the University of Osijek and vice versa.

Within their scientific research activities, the constituent units of the University of Osijek have had long-standing successful cooperation with numerous scientific institutions in the country and abroad: the Ruđer Bošković Institute in Zagreb, the Faculty of Science and Andrija Štampar School of Public Health in Zagreb, the Institute for Anthropological Research, the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, the Croatian Veterinary Institute and Naval Institute (Brodarski institut) in Zagreb, the Croatian Historical Institute in Vienna, the European Consortium for the Certificate of Attainment in Modern Languages in Pécs, Cardiff University, the Universität des Saarlandes, the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems in Magdeburg, West Virginia University in Morgantown, and University of Texas at Arlington, etc.

We particularly emphasize the participation of all constituent units of the University of Osijek in the Erasmus programme within which the international exchange of students and (non) teaching staff is realized. In the last six years, over four hundred Erasmus Inter-Institutional Agreements have been signed, which provide a solid basis for the development of international cooperation with a tendency to expand to the CEEPUS programme, project cooperation, joint study programmes and the organization of professional and scientific symposiums.