Naslovnica    O Sveučilištu    Djelatnost    Međunarodna suradnja
International Cooperation
Studenti    Obrazovanje    Media    Javna nabava    English   
History of Higher Education in Osijek
A Short History of Higher Education in Osijek    
The history of higher education in this area began almost three centuries ago, i.e. in 1707, when the first institution of higher education was founded in Osijek. It was the Higher Theological School, which was opened in the 1707/1708 academic year as Studium Philosophicum Essekini, and included a three-year course of studies in philosophy. 
The significance of the first colleges in Osijek lies in their huge contribution to Croatian language and literature, the spreading of liberal-arts education, and the study of languages and classical literature. 
 The recent history of higher education in the area began in 1959 when the Zagreb Faculty of Economics, in accordance with the University of Zagreb, founded the Centre for part-time studies in Osijek as a branch of the Zagreb Faculty of Economics. The initiative for the founding of the University of Osijek dates back to 1975. On 26 March 1975, the Croatian Parliament (Sabor) passed the Decision granting consent for the establishing the University of Osijek. Two months later, on 31 May 1975, the Agreement concerning the founding of the University of Osijek was signed by the Faculty of Economics, the Faculty of Agriculture and Food Processing, the Institute of Agriculture, the Zagreb School of Engineering and Naval Architecture for Engineering Studies in Slavonski Brod, the Teacher Training College in Osijek, the Zagreb Music Academy for the Music Department in Osijek, the City Library and the Historical Archives in Osijek. Therefore, we celebrate 31 May as the day when the University of Osijek was founded. 

 In this brief outline we need to point out several important years in the history of the founding of the various faculties of the University of Osijek: in 1975 the Faculty of Law, in 1976 the Faculty of Food Technology, in 1977 the Faculty of Education, in 1979 the School of Engineering in Slavonski Brod and Medical Studies in Osijek, which developed into the Faculty of Medicine in 1998, in 1982 the Faculty of Civil Engineering, in 1990 the Electrical Engineering Studies developed into the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, and in the same year, the University Senate passed the Decision to include the name of Josip Juraj Strossmayer in the name of the university. Joseph George Strossmayer, (Croatian: Josip Juraj) was bishop and theologian, politician and statesman. He was one of the most famous Croats in the world, known as a promoter of Croatian culture and the people's tribune, whose entire life was devoted to advancing the welfare and progress of Croatian people. He was born on February 4, 1815 in Osijek, died April 8, 1905 in Đakovo. Strossmayer was a true predecessor of modern ecumenical quests for unification and open dialogue, and he strove for unity and cooperation despite differences, casting away centuries of misunderstanding and conflict. His personality, ideas, broad viewpoints, global reasoning and his overall legacy have been recognized and followed even today in the mission of the University of Osijek. 

 We need to point out that the academic year 1991/1992 began in wartime Croatia. We must emphasize that the University of Osijek was the only university in Croatia that suffered severe damage in the war for independence.       
The University of Osijek today   
Today the University of Osijek (official abbreviation: UNIOS) is developing into a modern European higher education institution. It acts as a regional center of knowledge, research and excellence. 

 UNIOS consists of 
 11 faculties, 
 5 University departments, 
 1 Academy of Arts   

 UNIOS organizes studies at undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate level in the following fields: natural sciences, technical sciences, biomedicine and medicine, biotechnical sciences, social sciences, humanities and arts. There are also studies within interdisciplinary fields. 

 All University studies are organized according to Bologna principles and ECTS is fully implemented at all levels.   

There are three more affiliated institutions of the University of Osijek that contribute to high quality of student life and studying: 
City and University Library in Osijek, 
Student Centre in Osijek,
Student Centre in the city of Slavonski Brod,
Student Centre in the city of Djakovo.